G’day, blog world!

I’ve moved all my other rants on another blog, so this feels like a clean slate. Another opportunity to forget to write. To abandon my 2.5 readers. To fear readership and publicity, grammatical errors. To fear what goes on in my head.

It’s also another opportunity to talk about books, working out, wondering which new diet fad to believe and adhere to, dancing, cleaning my room. Future plans. Cleaning my room. (Yes, ad infinitum, because it always inevitably goes back to its original state.)

Oh yes, books. I usually have three on my reading list: one ebook on Kindle:

A Commonwealth of Thieves

one physical book at home:

The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet

and one at work:

Cloudstreet

Today, I’ll talk about the book I’m reading at home, “The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet” by Reif Larsen. I borrowed it from the Busselton Public Library (Western Australia) in early January 2015, just when I was about to leave. I didn’t get to finish it and swore that when I go back to visit, I would borrow it again.

Fortunately, I found a good copy of the book when I visited a Booksale branch in Lipa City (Philippines). Despite my intention not to buy more books, I just had to get this one. (I know that’s what book addicts always say, but hey.)

The only reason it stays at home is because it’s a big book. Not one of those small paperbacks you can put in your pocket. And for good reason. It tells not only the story of T.S. Spivet, but also how Reif Larsen must have painstakingly put all the pieces together. Because it’s bits and pieces of everything. Or at least, that’s what it reads like. And the drawn-out process definitely paid off for the author. According to Vanity Fair, the not-quite-30-yet author had 10 publishers begging him to love them.

Currently, I’m making an inventory of all my books so I can donate the lot of them to a local school library. One of the challenges for a book lover is choosing which ones to let go of. I can almost remember the details of how I got each book, how I felt when I finished reading it (or when I gave up and put it back on the shelf), whether or not I was able to get back to real world right after I’ve read it. The emotional aspect may be shared by a similar ebook, but the experiences before, during and after reading a physical book go beyond knowing the story. Dog ears or teardrop stains, an ebook cannot have those. However, there comes a time to let go of prized possessions because they would serve others better if they were available to them, rather than have them gathering dust on the shelves.

And for this day’s guilty pleasure, a playlist of Taylor Swift’s songs:

Have fun, everyone!

xo, Mylene

