Boulevard Mansion Hotel

Things are looking up, yeah!

This year, I expect to go on two overseas trips and one local travel. While I try to contain my excitement (especially for my November trip), I’d like to talk about some of the hotels that I’ve been in.

It’s probably because of Agoda that I’ve been in a number of hotels. I pretty much know how hotels work because I got suckered into working in one in Batangas City in 1996, as a back office personnel. That hotel is an example of how not to do business. I’m glad to report that it doesn’t appear to have taken off since I left and (all modesty thrown out of the window) I’m a lawyer now. Eat that, Cathy Morningside Motel/Inn!

days_HOTEL (3)
Here comes the sun.

Boulevard Mansion Hotel, Manila (2/7/2010 – 2/8/2010)

hotelview
In early 2010, a woman called me asking if I would be interested in interviewing for a lawyer position in Palau. I had no idea where Palau was and why it might want to hire Filipino lawyers, but I was willing to go on an adventure. I said yes, and an interview date was set up for me.

I had already discovered hotels at this point and was eager for another excuse to book with Agoda. That website, along with Google Maps, helped me in my hotel quest and I finally settled on Boulevard Mansion Hotel along Roxas Boulevard. I checked in the day before and prepped for my interview by learning Wikipedia bits about Palau.

The hotel was basic but not cramped and the best thing about the room I got was the view of the opposite hotel (I forgot what hotel it was) and its moving lights at night.

I checked out in the morning before I left for my interview and had them store my luggage for a few hours.

It was a weird interview. After having complimented me about the way I speak, the two senators from Palau started talking to me about how much I’m expecting to get paid. I told them and I had the distinct feeling I asked for too little because they seemed eager to hire me but said that they would have to go back home and consult with the other senators.

Afterwards, they asked me and the other lawyers interviewed on that day to an early lunch at a nearby restaurant. When the woman from the agency and I went to the bathroom, she told me that I was the only one whose interview wasn’t rushed. During lunch, those old guys seemed to be paying more attention to what I was saying than to what the others were saying.

There was this other Palauan man who joined us at lunch. He said he was also looking to hire lawyers for his private practice and got my number. The senators saw me talking to him and told me to wait for their call and not to make a deal with that man. Strangely, they also gave me a few hundred pesos for my commute back home. At first, I refused the offer but they insisted and it would have been too much effort to refuse some more.

As a post-note to this anecdote, I didn’t get a call from the Palau people, which made my pronouncement that they seemed to like me a big joke. I think I must have been dreaming. Or maybe, Palau doesn’t really exist.

Love to hear from you!

